Wiener Ball Luxembourg
  GermanFrench
     
WelcomeProgramCharityDebutante CommitteeViennese Ball TraditionPhoto GalleryPress ReviewNewsletter / LinksOrganiser / Contact
Facebook
Youtube

 

The traditional Wiener Ball developed from social events which were held at the French and Burgundian court in the fourteenth century, and during which dancing also took place. The high point was reached in the ball evenings of the Viennese Biedermeier period, between the Congress of Vienna in 1814/1815 and the revolution of 1848.

After all the shortages of the war years before the Congress of Vienna, people were desperate to enjoy themselves again. Under the regime of von Metternich the population was excluded from all political decision-making, but while the spoken and written word were subject to restrictions, music was not censored. It was then that the Viennese waltz was born, and its notes still define the musical programme of every Viennese ball today.

Johann Strauss the Elder (1804-1849) and Josef Lanner (1801-1843) are held to be the Viennese ball's founding fathers and the "Waltz Kings". But what was (and is) the fascination of this "new" type of musical entertainment?

In contrast to older types of social dances, the waltz, with its fast whirling of partners held as if in a close embrace, shocked polite society when it was first introduced. In the second half of the 19th century, Johann Strauss the Younger (1825-1899), his brothers Josef (1827-1870) and Eduard (1835-1916), Carl Michael Ziehrer, and many others helped to develop and spread the waltz. Just like his father before him, Johann Strauss the Younger soon became known as a "Waltz King". In addition to the Kaiserwalzer(Emperor Waltz), Wiener Blut (Viennese Blood), and the G'schichten aus dem Wienerwald (Tales from the Vienna Woods), he also composed what is surely the most famous of all waltz melodies, An der schönen blauen Donau, the "On the beautiful blue Danube".

Ever since then, the pleasant and convivial atmosphere of balls has not only been used for dancing but also as an opportunity to rekindle personal or professional contacts, or to make new ones. Decisions of world importance are no longer made during balls these days, like they were at the "dancing" Congress of Vienna, but the most famous of all Viennese balls, the Opera Ball, still attracts pre-eminent personalities from politics, business, and society.

Balls are still a distinct feature of Viennese carnival celebrations. Most of the 250 or so balls which take place during the "ball season" are held in venues steeped in history. But it is not only in Vienna that the tradition of typical Viennese balls is kept alive; such events take place throughout the world. These events also help to cement the international reputation of Vienna as a cultural capital.

A typical ball always begins with a ceremony which has developed from 18th century Viennese court ceremonial.

Every lady is greeted on entry to the ballroom and given a small gift, the so-called Damenspende.

The actual opening ceremony begins with the entry of a "debutante committee", as it is known in Vienna, whose members form up to the sounds of a polonaise (usually by Carl Michael Ziehrer). The conductor gives the upbeat for a quadrille which is then danced by the young ladies and gentlemen. All the young ladies who open the ball evening must wear a long white gown. The young men wear either dinner suit or evening dress (tails) at all important balls. When the two groups of ladies and gentlemen dance in the opening ceremony it creates the most wonderful contrasting black and white patterns.

The opening ceremony ends with a "left hand waltz" (where the movement is solely to the left).

Up until this point, only the young ladies and gentlemen of the debutante committee are on the dance floor. But then the dancing master invites all other guests to join the dancing with the words "Alles Walzer" (waltz for all).

Although the waltz is the main part of the musical programme during a ball, there is also a chance to dance other dances such as the foxtrot, slow foxtrot, "slow" waltz, rumba, or cha-cha-cha.

However, the most important aspect of any traditional ball is that all guests remember it as a superb experience long after they have gone home!

 
 
Last Update: 09.02.2012

Wiener Ball Luxembourg
  EnglishFrançais
     
WillkommenProgrammCharityEröffnungskomitteeBalltradition in WienFotogaleriePressespiegelNewsletter / LinksVeranstalter / Kontakt
Facebook
Youtube

 

Der traditionelle Wiener Ball entwickelte sich aus gesellschaftlichen Veranstaltungen am französischen und burgundischen Hof im 14. Jahrhundert, bei denen auch getanzt wurde. Ihre Hochblüte erreichten die Ballabende im Wiener Biedermeier, zwischen dem Wiener Kongress 1814/15 und der Revolution von 1848.

Nach den Entbehrungen der kriegerischen Auseinandersetzungen vor dem Wiener Kongress war das Bedürfnis der Menschen nach Lebensgenuss besonders ausgeprägt. Gleichzeitig wurde die Bevölkerung unter dem Herrschaftssystem des Staatskanzlers Metternich von der Teilnahme an allen politischen Entscheidungsprozessen ausgeschlossen. Doch während das gesprochene und das geschriebene Wort kontrolliert wurden, blieb die Musik unzensiert. In dieser Zeit wurde der Wiener Walzer geboren, dessen Klänge bis heute das musikalische Programm jedes Wiener Balls bestimmen.

Als seine Väter gelten Johann Strauß Vater (1804-1849) und Josef Lanner (1801-1843), die "Walzerkönige". Worin bestand (und besteht immer noch) der Zauber dieser "neuen" Unterhaltungsmusik?

Im Gegensatz zu den älteren Gesellschaftstänzen, ermöglicht der Walzer die hautnahe Begegnung der Tänzer, das Verschmelzen der Körper beim schwindelnden Drehen, das Gefühl eines Rauschens ohne Ende. Dies war wohl auch der Grund, weshalb anfänglich mitunter moralische Bedenken gegen diese Tanzform geäußert wurden.

In der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts trugen Johann Strauß Sohn (1825-1870), seine Brüder Josef (1827-1870) und Eduard (1835-1916), Carl Michael Ziehrer und viele andere zur Weiterentwicklung und Verbreitung des Walzers bei. Wie bereits sein Vater wurde auch Johann Strauß Sohn bald als "Walzerkönig" bezeichnet. Er komponierte neben dem "Kaiserwalzer", "Wiener Blut", den "G'schichten aus dem Wienerwald" u.a. die wohl berühmteste aller Walzermelodien "An der schönen blauen Donau" (Donauwalzer).

Auf Bällen wird jedoch seit jeher nicht nur getanzt, sie werden auch zum Anlaß genommen, um private oder berufliche Kontakte in angenehmer und entspannter Atmosphäre aufzufrischen oder neu zu knüpfen. Zwar werden dabei keine Entscheidungen von welthistorischer Bedeutung mehr getroffen wie auf dem "tanzenden" Wiener Kongress, doch lockt der berühmteste aller Wiener Bälle, der "Opernball", auch heute noch weltweit bedeutende Persönlichkeiten aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft an.

Bälle sind nach wie vor ein fester Bestandteil des Wiener Faschings. Die rund 250 Bälle während der "Ballsaison" finden meist in geschichtsträchtigen Räumlichkeiten statt. Doch nicht nur in Wien wird die Tradition der typischen Wiener Bälle fortgesetzt. In der ganzen Welt werden Wiener Ballveranstaltungen organisiert. Diese Bälle tragen auch dazu bei, das internationale Ansehen Wiens als kulturelle Metropole zu unterstreichen.

Der typische Ball läuft immer nach einer Zeremonie ab, die sich aus dem Wiener Hofzeremoniell des 18. Jahrhunderts entwickelt hat.

Beim Empfang im Ballsaal wird jeder eintretenden Dame ein kleines Geschenk, die sogenannte "Damenspende" überreicht.

Zur festlichen Eröffnung des Balls zieht ein "Jungdamen- und Jungherren-Komitee" - wie es in Wien genannt wird - zu den Klängen einer Polonaise (meist von Carl Michael Ziehrer) ein und nimmt Aufstellung. Der Konzertmeister gibt nun den Auftakt zu einer Quadrille, zu der diese jungen Damen und Herren tanzen. Als Bekleidung für alle jungen Damen, die eröffnen, ist ein langes weißes Kleid vorgeschrieben. Die jungen Herren tragen bei bedeutenden Ballveranstaltungen Smoking oder Frack. Aus der Bewegung der Damen und Herren beim Eröffnungstanz ergeben sich reizvoll zu betrachtende, kontrastierende Schwarz-Weiß-Effekte.

Mit einem "Linkswalzer" (dabei wird ausschließlich nach links gedreht) endet der Eröffnungsteil.

Bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt befinden sich nur die jungen Damen und Herren auf dem Tanzparkett. Nunmehr fordert der Tanzmeister mit den Worten "Alles Walzer" die übrigen Ballgäste zum Tanzen auf.

Obgleich der Walzer das musikalische Programm des Ballabends beherrscht, kann in der Folge auch zu anderen Rhythmen wie Foxtrott, Slow Fox, Langsamer Walzer, Rumba oder ChaChaCha getanzt werden.

Das Wichtigste allerdings bleibt, dass der Ball bei allen Gästen über den Abend hinaus als großartiges Erlebnis in der Erinnerung fortlebt.

 
 
Last Update: 09.02.2012